I was humming one of the Totoro movie's song while I was preparing for dinner tonight, and I had an urge to write a blog about my favorite cartoon artist - Miyazaki Hayao.

Miyazaki Hayao's movies have grew up with me since I was a baby. I still remember the first movie I watched was the Grave of the Fireflies. It was a sad sad sad story, I was only a little kid when I watched it and it made me cried so much.
Picture
Picture
Miyazaki's movies were always not only beautiful, but they are also very meaningful (although I think the more recent ones are not as good as the old ones). I enjoyed all the illustrations from all the cartoons, they are so detailed and colorful.

My all time favorites are , of course, Totoro , Laputa and The Valley of the wind.  I have them on my VCR tapes... lol, never get bored of these movies. These three movies also have the best music too, very touching music. I just Love them SO MUCH that I can't describe them in words.. lol


How I wish Totoro is my friend too! OH! I forgot to mention the cat bus, I would love to have a ride in it!! fluffy~fluffy~
Picture
Picture
Picture
Picture
Laputa is amazing! The story is so touching, I always cry at the end. I would love to live in the sky castle with all the animals and the robots, the underwater world in the sky is amazing! Well, Miyazaki is amazing to have such imagination.
Picture
Picture
The valley of the wind is cool, when I was a kid, I always wanted to become the girl in the movie, I love that airplane thingy she rides on, it's soooo cool!
Picture
Picture
Here are more photos of the Miyazaki Movies I've watched:
(I don't know most of their english name cause I watched them in Chinese & Japanese.... =S so if anyone knows the english name of the movies, please leave a comment, thanks!! )

Porco Rosso
Picture
Kiki's delivery service, actually I love this one too =) just too bad the cat can't talk anymore at the end>.<
Picture
平成狸合戦ぽんぽこ
Picture
耳をすませば
Picture
おもひでぽろぽろ
Picture
Princess Mononoke
Picture
The Cat Returns
Picture
Spirited Away
Picture
Howl's Moving Castle
Picture
Ponyo, its very cute, but to be honest, it's my least favorite one.. :(
Picture
I was a little disappointed in Miyazaki's recent movies, illustration wise they are still beautiful, but story wise, I think they are not as meaningful as the ones I used to watch. But I would love to see more new movies from him!! I hope he's not retiring yet?? =)

So which one is your favorite Miyazaki movie?
Becky
3/2/2010 09:23:53 pm

ahh, I cant watch Grave of the Fireflies.. its just sooooooo sad!

I love all of Miyazaki Hayao's movies so much! But Ponyo was a little bit of a dissapointment.

The 4th last picture with the cats in it is 'The Cat Returns' :-3

Reply
s
3/3/2010 01:37:33 pm

Reply
SakuraChan
3/3/2010 01:39:48 pm

I lvvv Spirted Away,Howls Moving Castle,Princess Mononoke,The Vally of Wind and Porco Rosso! I wonder if the other movies are good?? I'll try Totoro!

Reply
Natalie @ Chi Chi Memories
3/4/2010 12:23:03 am

omg.. Totoro is so good! It's too cute to handle.. lol you gotta watch it!

Reply
3/4/2010 12:23:59 am

Thanks Becky! I'll change that! =)

Reply
SakuraChan
3/6/2010 03:02:16 pm

well. the seven last one it seems like the same cat from The Cat Returns. And you know how its Returns?? I think its the last movie!

Reply
SakuraChan
3/7/2010 06:25:23 am

Whoops! I mean it was the one before the cat returns!

Reply
3/7/2010 08:16:02 am

Ya, they are the same cat, actually these two movies share some scenes together, the cat is a decoration inside a unique boutique shop in the neighbourhood. I'm not too sure if the movies are related though, cause the main characters are different.

Reply
Sakura Chan
3/7/2010 08:22:59 am

Oh yea! I just noticed to girl. Lolz!

Reply



Leave a Reply.