I had this blog planned for a long time but never got a chance to post it. I wanted to share with my friends about blending the water color pencil crayons (that's how I color before I bought the copics). Now that one of my customer is asking me which blender I used for blending, I might as well do a quick blog about it.

I'm starting with the pencil crayons that I use. Of course, the pencil crayons have to be Watercolor Pencil Crayons / Water Soluble Pencil Crayons. The brand that I'm using is called Garan D'ache, from Switzerland, very nice brand, beautiful colors. =)
Another brand that I know is Derwant, from UK, but I've never used it, so I'm not too sure about the quality.
So I start off filling in all the colors with the pencil crayons. I will also add different shades so that when I blend them there will be a shading effect. *note that you can only do the blending process once. A second attempt on the same spot doesn't really work , and the paper will start to get fuzzy when you blend it, color it again and then blend it again... so make sure you have all the colors you want before you start blending*
Picture
Here's the most important equipment! I'm using Marvy, LePlume II... it is a blender for stamp markers. Unlike the alcohol base copic blender, this is a water base blender so it's perfect for these pencil crayons =)
Picture
Blend Blend Blend... I blend them in a circular motion.
Picture
Now apply the same technique to the rest of the image...
Picture
Blend it, and TA-DA! Simple eh? It has a different feel to it too... it shows a little bit of pencil crayon marks, I think it's beautiful. =) I hope this helps everyone!
Picture
Jane Matsumoto
3/30/2010 02:11:59 am

This is awesome, Natalie! I just got a large pack of Derwent watercolour pencils and this is just what I needed to get started with them! Thank you!

Reply
Julia
3/30/2010 03:05:12 am

oh, thank you so much for this tutorial! I'm going to try it out! Love your coloring.

Reply
Laura
3/30/2010 03:14:09 am

I have watercolor pencils in a drawer somewhere and I've been dying to bring them out ever since I've been admiring your coloring. Thanks for this! I am definitely going to try now!

Reply
Sakura Chan
3/31/2010 09:37:07 am

WOW! AWSOME!

Reply
Hannah
4/24/2010 08:47:38 am

Thank you so very much for taking the time for this tutorial!!!! I am sooo excited!!! I kept wondering how you were blending <3 it!

Reply
Yenni Natalia
6/27/2010 12:53:51 am

Hi jenny this tutorial is fantastic!! love it. btw you use the pencil crayons from caran dache pablo series or supracolour as i know pablo series actually not watercolour. where can i get the blending pen??

Reply
Natalie
6/27/2010 05:32:46 am

Hi Natalia, I used the Pablo (the one in the photo above) I also have supracolour, they are both water soluble pencil crayons. =) The blending pen is a stamp marker blender. You can get them from craft stores. The brand is Marvy. You can also use damp paint brush to blend the colors, there are different effects by using different blenders.

Reply
12/12/2010 09:37:02 am

Realmente me gusta. Gracias por compartir con nosotros. *

Reply
2/25/2011 10:20:54 am

you can find what you want to in here,make your life full of color ,it's a perfect website.

Reply
3/7/2011 11:14:41 am

Thank you for taking this opportunity to talk about this, I feel strongly about it and I benefit from learning about this topic. If achievable, as you gain data, please update this weblog with new details. I have discovered it very valuable! I admiring time and effort you put within your weblog, due to the fact it's obviously one particular terrific place where I can locate great deal of helpful info. Bookmarked and I will share it. Thank you a great deal!

Reply
3/10/2011 11:13:34 am

Thanks so much for posting these, they are fantastic! So bummed I missed what looks like a truly unique evening.

Reply
3/13/2011 07:28:20 pm

you can find what you want to in here,make your life full of color ,it's a perfect website.

Reply
3/16/2011 04:45:56 pm

Your blog is so great . I'd like to read the information about it, so how does it work? Do you want to know the MBT shoes ? MBT shoes on hot sale !

Reply
5/2/2011 05:01:04 pm

Death is a natural process because it makes way for new life.

Reply



Leave a Reply.